top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Rivera

A Quiet Place

I think most of us can agree that we live in a noisy world. Today, there are so many things pulling on our attention and screaming for our focus. All that, before we ever reach for our electronics. Kids need to be fed, house needs to be cleaned, jobs need to be done, planned and unplanned events interrupt us. Then we also try to keep up with what the world outside our home is doing: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, Telegram, YouTube. Not to mention phone calls, text messaging and the news.


This steady stream of demands and information can easily overwhelm us. I'm fully convinced our brains are not wired to handle so much incoming information. It's that feeling that if you care about one thing, you must care about everything. It's madness. It's impossible.


When was the last time you scheduled a quiet time to be alone with your own thoughts? Our brains need that "white space" to process. But how many of us actually do that? Instead, we "chill out" by giving our brain more things to look at (hello Netflix).


Going to the barn offers a natural quiet space for me. Even if I'm doing simple tasks, it allows my brain to unwind and think over things that I want to give my attention to. Other times, I just let my thoughts wander. The amazing thing is, when I give my brain the space it needs, I find the clarity and calm I need.


It doesn't have to be the barn, but that's where I tend to go. For you, it may be different. Bubble bath with wine, candles and music anyone? Baking with your favorite band turned up? A craft you schedule time to enjoy? Journaling at your local coffee spot? Whatever it is, make time, on purpose, to hear your own thoughts. Allow your brain space to unwind and re-center. All that other stuff will be waiting for you once you pick up your phone again.


Right now, let's focus on quality instead of quantity. Give Facebook a curfew, switch your phone to silent during meals, catch up with the news once and then go about your day. Put boundaries in place around yourself to protect your rest physically and mentally. You won't be able to process all that information anyways, so don't even bother trying to play catch up. Decide what's important to you and then don't worry about the rest. Find a quiet place.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page